Don’t Drink the Orange Juice!

Oi! Como Estao!!!

The CTM has been fantastic! I have loved every moment of it! Every one has told me that the first week would be the longest week of my life but it has seriously flown by. I can’t believe it’s already Tuesday! I’ll start off by telling you a little bit about my district.

Our district includes four Elders and eight Sisters. We were supposed to have five Elders, but one of them never showed up… We have one Elder going to Mozambique and the rest of us to Lisboa. My companion, Elder Bryan, is a 6’6″ half giant from Murray. I honestly feel like a hobbit next to him. It has definitley been a humbling experience. The other two Elders are also Utah boys. Elder Coomes, the color-blind ginger, is from Lehi; and Elder Lara is a Provo kid raised in Mexico. We all get along great and I am so greatful to be with them! I will try and send a picture of the four of us but I don’t know if I will be able to get it to work… I don’t really know the sisters too well, we stay away from them as much as possible! Hah girls are scary now!

Every day here is sooo busy! I really didn’t know it was possible to study this much. We are in the classroom from 7:00 to 23:00 (they use 24 hour time in Portugal so get used to it) with three 45 minute breaks for meals and an hour and a half for gym/shower. Class goes by fast though, so it’s not too bad. Our teacher is great, he served in the Portugal Lisboa mission a few years ago so he knows his stuff. Portuguese is coming along great! It’s basically just glorified Spanish so its not totally new to me. I really am amazed with how much all of us have learned though, especially in just four days of class. The Spirit is definitely here with us, helping us learn. We pray morning and night in Portuguese as companionships and as a district before every meal, so we get a lot of practice there. I will be fluent in no time!

I really am so happy to be here. The spirit is always so strong, and my testimony has grown so much. I thought I knew the gospel before I came, but I didn’t. Not at all. There is always so much more to learn. General Conference here was amazing! I think it was the first conference I have ever made it through without falling asleep, so two thumbs up for me. Every talk was so great, and exactly what I needed to hear. All you sisters out there really should go and watch the Priesthood Session online. So much great stuff in that meeting!

Sunday night we went to a devotional in which Vocal Point performed. If you haven’t heard of them they are an a capella group from byu and competed on some big show on NBC or something. Music really is a wonderful way to bring the spirit. From the second they started to sing, the spirit flooded the room. After the singing we watched an old talk from Elder Holland called Missions Are Forever. It was so eye opening. I see my mission completely different now. For those of you out there planning on serving missions soon, go find it and watch it. It will change your lives!

I can’t really think of what else to say because I forgot my journal back at our room. Everything really has been going so great though. I have loved every bit of it! Except for the food that is… The food is absolutely terrible… I have literally had a nonstop stomach ache since I first walked in to the cafeteria. Since day one I have been cautioned and told to NOT DRINK THE ORANGE JUICE. Apparenty it gives you instant diarrhea which is a bummer because I love my orange juice for breakfast. Today we got to eat at the Temple cafeteria. It was the best meal of my life. We were literally scraping the leftover sauce off of our plates because it tasted so good. I’m already looking forward to next Tuesday so I can eat there again!

Well that’s about all the time I have for today. Sorry for the scrambled email, I’ve been rushing it. Next week will be better, I promise!!! I love you all and I hope you are doing wonderful! Remember, the Lord will always be there for us, no matter what you’re going through. If your going through a rough time, get on your knees and pray!!! He will help you! See you next week!

With love,
Elder Mehl

One thought on “Don’t Drink the Orange Juice!

  1. Para Dios,todos somos Iguales,por lo que no somos nada ni nadie para jusgar a otros,aceptemos a otros tal como son,asi como dios nos acepta con todas nuestras imperfecciones.
    Tus abuelos———

Leave a Reply

